Donate

Our Story

River Center Staff

Powell Jones
Center Director
Telephone: 360-681-4076
Fax: 360-681-8060
rivercenter@olympus.net

Vanessa Fuller
Administrative Services & Development Manager
Telephone: 360-681-4076
Fax: 360-681-8060
rcoffice@olympus.net

Jenna Ziogas
Educational Coordinator & Volunteer Coordinator
Telephone: 360-681-4076
Fax: 360-681-8060
rceducation@olympus.net

Board of Directors 2016 (July)

Julie Jackson, President
juliejackson@wavecable.com

Clare Hatler, Vice President
hatlerclare444@gmail.com

Ann Sargent, Secretary, JST
asargent@jamestowntribe.org

Carl Siver, Treasurer
cgsiver@outlook.com

Board Members

Shirley Anderson
sanderson22@olypen.com 

Nancy Bargar
nkbargar@gmail.com

Sue Chickman
organicallysue@olypen.com

Dennis Dickson
denniscd170@q.com

Neil Harrington
nharrington@jamestowntribe.org

Annette Hanson
annette_hanson@msn.com

Les Jones
360-683-6149

Annette Nesse
anesse@jamestowntribe.org

Tuttie Peetz
trpeetz@tfon.com

Wanda Schneider
w.schneider105@yahoo.com

Greg Voyles
gvoyles@voylesinsurance.com

Ken Wiersema
wiersema@olympus.net

Photo by Jennifer Johnson

Photo by Jennifer Johnson

Who We Are

The Dungeness River Audubon Center at Railroad Bridge Park is located along the Dungeness River, the ancestral watershed of the Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe. The Center is the only U.S. Audubon Center with a tribal partner and the only rural center in Washington State.

The Dungeness River Audubon Center maintains active partnerships with the Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe, the Olympic Peninsula Audubon Society and the National Audubon Society.

The Dungeness River Audubon Center is governed by a River Center Board with equal representation from the four partner organizations and at-large members providing particular expertise. A full-time salaried Director, Education and Volunteer Coordinator, and Administrative Services and Development Manager are assisted by a Park Host, and by a strong cadre of Docents and volunteers from the boards and membership of the partners. We have 4 committees if you would like to get more involved; Development, Investment, Park Stewardship, and Membership.

1. Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe

The Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe has enjoyed an association with the Dungeness River beginning long before other settlement. In recent years the Tribe, through its Natural Resources staff, has been active in efforts to protect and enhance the river habitat for the sake of the salmon and the people of the Peninsula, including facilitating the efforts of a Dungeness River habitat restoration working group of fisheries and wildlife biologists and river experts.

Further information about the Tribe can be found at the Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe web site: http://www.jamestowntribe.org

opaslogo2. Olympic Peninsula Audubon Society

OPAS, the Clallam-County-based chapter of the National Audubon Society, has been an organizational supporter of the Rainshadow Natural Science Foundation since the foundation’s beginnings, and, as might be expected, there is substantial cross-membership. OPAS members have also been active in various public-participation projects to enhance stewardship, planning and habitat restoration projects in the Dungeness watershed.The OPAS Board committed to recognize the River Center as a primary project of the chapter, and to help further the River Center objectives. A special committee of the Board is focussed on details.

Further information about Olympic Peninsula Audubon Society can be found at: http://www.olympicpeninsulaaudubon.org

3. National Audubon/Audubon Washington

The National Audubon Society is developing a network of Audubon affiliated Nature Centers across the country, involving partnerships with local chapters such as OPAS, civic associations, schools and other groups to enhance environmental education in local communities.

Information on the scope of National Audubon’s activities across the country can be found on the NAS web site: http://www.audubon.org

FloodPlainLargeWoodyDebris-BoekelheideWe Offer:

  • Year-round nature programs
  • Green conference & retreat center rentals
  • School field trips and nature immersion learning experiences
  • Field trips and customized retreats for groups of any age and size
  • Youth and family camps
  • Day tours and programs
  • Adult learning experiences
  • Wildlife programs on-site and off-site